The Governor Morehead Park
The Governor Morehead Park is a beautiful location for quiet walks, picnics, family gatherings, and special events throughout the year. It is soley owned and funded by EPS members.
The maintenance of the park is an ongoing project for the EPS: routine maintenance includes mowing and weeding. Most of the preservation efforts in this area are focused on restoring the foundation wall of the original "Old Stone Mill" that was built by Gov. John Motley Morehead.
The original foundation wall of the Leaksville Cotton Mill.
The original mill was built in 1839 and destroyed by fire in 1893. It was rebuilt and used for many decades, but was eventually torn down. The foundation wall is all that remains today and is becoming increasingly unstable.
Update - Spring 2017: Thanks to a recent grant of $12,714 from the Rockingham County Community Foundation and Duke Energy, plus $1,000 donated by Wells Fargo, we have most of what’s required to stabilize this important landmark. But we still need to raise about $5,000 to complete the project...
This hidden waterfall at Morehead Park...
...can be heard from many places around the grounds. Follow the sound to see this gem. (Picture by Jim B.)